Audi welcomes back Porsche by driving a Le Mans racing car to the company’s head office in Zuffenhausen

This year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans promises to be more exciting than ever. Having won the event in each of the last four years, Audi is competing for victory against both Toyota and the returning Porsche team. After many successful seasons, Porsche hasn’t competed in this class for the past 16 years.

In line with this year’s Audi Sport slogan of “Welcome challenges”, Audi is particularly looking forward to this comeback and has expressed its excitement in a unique way: in a 60-second viral video, an endurance racing car (an Audi R18 e-tron quattro to be precise) sets off from Audi HQ, drives through the centre of Ingolstadt and makes its way along country roads before pulling up outside Porsche’s head office in the Stuttgart suburb of Zuffenhausen. When it arrives, it unleashes 600 hp to write the message “Welcome back” on the tarmac.

Michael Finke, Head of International Communication at Audi: “The viral ad is just one of many activities in line with this year’s slogan. We are pleased to not only be able to convey the signature Audi ethos, but also to activate and involve motor sport fans all over the world.”

The viral video was uploaded to YouTube last Friday and had been watched more than a million times by Tuesday. It went straight to number one in the German Viral Video Charts. Audi has also made the music from the video available as a free global download and a 30-second version of the film has been used as a TV ad by Audi of America, with concept development and implementation done by thjnk, Hamburg.

Audi sagt „Willkommen zurück, Porsche!“: Le Mans-Rennwagen fährt in Zuffenhausen vor

Hamburg, im Juni. Dieses Jahr versprechen die 24 Stunden von Le Mans noch spannender zu werden. Audi, Sieger der letzten 4 Jahre, tritt im legendären Langstreckenrennen neben Toyota auch gegen den Rückkehrer Porsche an. Die Zuffenhausener waren nach mehreren erfolgreichen Saisons die letzten 16 Jahre nicht in dieser Klasse gestartet.

Getreu dem diesjährigen Audi Motorsport-Motto „Welcome challenges“ freut sich Audi ganz besonders über diese Rückkehr – und gibt ihr auf einzigartige Weise Ausdruck: in einem 60-sekündigen Viral macht sich ein Langstreckenrennwagen (genauer: ein Audi R18 e-tron quattro) auf den Weg vom Audi Headquarter durch die Ingolstädter Innenstadt und über Landstraßen bis zum Porsche Headquarter in Stuttgart Zuffenhausen. Dort angekommen schreibt er mit über 600 PS die Botschaft “Welcome back“ auf den Asphalt.

Michael Finke, Leiter Internationale Kommunikation Audi: „Der Viral ist nur eine von vielen Aktivitäten unter unserem diesjährigen Motto. Wir freuen uns, damit nicht nur die typische Audi-Haltung zu transportieren, sondern auch Motorsportfans weltweit aktivieren und involvieren zu können.“

Der Viral ging letzten Freitag auf Youtube online und wurde bis Dienstag schon mehr als 1 Million mal angesehen und stieg direkt auf Platz 1 der deutschen Viral Video Charts ein. Die Musik zum Film gibt es von Audi als weltweiten gratis Download. Als 30-sekündiger TV-Spot wird dieser Film auch von Audi of America im Fernsehen geschaltet. Die Konzeption und Umsetzung lag bei thjnk, Hamburg.