Coming to you from a galaxy far, far away: the latest episode from thjnk and IKEA.

On 17 December 2015, the seventh instalment of the legendary Star Wars movie saga premieres in German theatres. IKEA is sharing in the celebrations with a 30-second 3D cinema commercial.

After all, science fiction and space travel are not just a source of inspiration to movie makers but also designers such as David Wahl, who is the creative force behind the Swedish furniture manufacturer’s IKEA PS 2014 pendant lamp. Shown floating dramatically through space, these lamps form the glowing heart of the commercial. Since the commercial is screened directly before the start of Star Wars: Episode VII, it made sense to film it in 3D, too – with the result that the IKEA pendant, which has already won the Red Dot Award for design, shines in a radiant new light.

“There’s virtually no other lamp in our range that captivates people’s imagination the way the IKEA PS 2014 does,” says Nina Kirschke, External Communications Manager at IKEA Germany. “We are confident it will win hearts – and not just of Star Wars fans.”

For all those who won’t have the big-screen experience, the commercial can also be viewed in 3D on the go with Google Cardboard. The campaign also features in OoH and digital OoH media. Additionally, GGH Lowe contributed online measures and newsletters, while Razorfish was responsible for the social media side. Local media was in the capable hands of the Vanderlicht agency. MediaCom handled the planning of the premium placement. Developed by thjnk, the commercial that aired in cinemas throughout Germany was produced by Parasol Island, Düsseldorf.

To the commercial

To the 3D spot for Google Cardboard

Responsible on the client side:
Marketing Manager: Heiko Klauer
External Communication Manager: Nina Kirschke
Project Leader Marketing: Eva Hoffmann

Responsible on the agency side:
Executive Creative Director: Bettina Olf
Creative Art Junior: Sebastian Körner
Creative Copy Senior: Susanne Härtwig
Creative Copy Junior: Isabella Jacob
Account Director: Verena Diefenbach
Account Manager: Ann-Kathrin Dobro

Responsible on the production side:
Film production: Parasol Island Düsseldorf
Animation Director: Fabian Grodde
Animation Producer: Simon Sieverts
Producer: Kristina Albrecht, Hermann Krug (CFS Krug)
Music: „Mars“ von Gustav Holst

Aus einer weit entfernten Galaxie: die neueste Episode von thjnk und IKEA.

Am 17. Dezember 2015 feiert das siebte Leinwandabenteuer der legendären „Star Wars“-Saga Deutschlandpremiere. IKEA zelebriert das Ereignis ebenfalls: mit einem eigenen 30-sekündigen 3-D-Kino-Spot.

Denn die Themen Science-Fiction und Weltraum inspirierten nicht nur Filmemacher, sondern auch Designer – wie David Wahl, der die IKEA PS 2014 Hängeleuchte für das schwedische Unternehmen entworfen hat. Diese Leuchte steht im Fokus der Kampagne und schwebt im Spot eindrucksvoll durchs All. Da dieser unmittelbar vor Star Wars: Episode VII läuft, lag es auf der Hand, ihn ebenfalls in 3-D zu zeigen. Damit lässt IKEA die bereits mit dem Red Dot Design Award ausgezeichnete Leuchte in einem neuen Licht erstrahlen.

„Kaum eine andere Lampe aus unserem Sortiment regt die Fantasie so an wie die IKEA PS 2014“, sagt Nina Kirschke, External Communication Manager bei IKEA Deutschland. „Wir sind sicher, dass sie nicht nur „Star Wars“-Fans direkt ans Herz wächst.“

Für alle, die es nicht ins Kino schaffen, gibt es den Film in 3-D auch für unterwegs: mit Google Cardboard. Die Kampagne wird zusätzlich in OOH und Digital OOH gespielt. Außerdem unterstützte GGH Lowe bei Online-Maßnahmen und Newslettern. Razorfish kümmerte sich um Social Media und die Agentur Vanderlicht um lokale Medien. MediaCom war für die Planung der Premiumplatzierung verantwortlich. thjnk entwickelte den deutschlandweit laufenden Kinospot mit der Filmproduktion Parasol Island Düsseldorf.

Den kompletten Spot gibt es hier

Den 3-D-Spot für Google Cardboard gibt es dort

Verantwortlich auf Kundenseite:
Marketing Manager: Heiko Klauer
External Communication Manager: Nina Kirschke
Project Leader Marketing: Eva Hoffmann

Verantwortlich auf Agenturseite:
Executive Creative Director: Bettina Olf
Creative Art Junior: Sebastian Körner
Creative Copy Senior: Susanne Härtwig
Creative Copy Junior: Isabella Jacob
Account Director: Verena Diefenbach
Account Manager: Ann-Kathrin Dobro

Verantwortlich auf Produktionsseite:
Filmproduktion: Parasol Island Düsseldorf
Animation Director: Fabian Grodde
Animation Producer: Simon Sieverts
Producer: Kristina Albrecht, Hermann Krug (CFS Krug)
Musik: „Mars“ von Gustav Holst