This IKEA Christmas campaign is a far cry from perfect.

Ho ho hey! This year everything is going to be perfect: The goose stays moist and juicy, no complaints even from my mother-in-law, the dog behaves itself and nothing goes wrong. That’s the plan, anyway. The reality is a little different. That’s why IKEA is celebrating Christmas 2015 the way it really is: perfectly imperfect. With the slogan “Together we’ll make it festive,” a broad-based launch campaign – developed by the thjnk agency group’s Hamburg branch – inspires people to go easier on themselves during the festive season and remember what it’s really all about: attacking the gingerbread house together, first decorating the tree and then yourselves and, of course, the whole family gathered around the table. In other words, spending quality time with your loved ones.

The campaign was developed in conjunction with all IKEA partner agencies across all media. A TV commercial showed a string of magic moments as a reminder that it’s the little imperfections that make Christmas perfect. It airs on all major TV channels from 2 November 2015, mainly in the 35- and 20-second versions. Additionally, a 76-second version is shown at selected times and is also deployed online along with seven other short videos.

An extensive landing page by GGH Lowe is the digital hub: IKEA.de/weihnachten features product ideas plus plenty of tips and inspiration for a perfectly imperfect yuletide celebration. The campaign is flanked by external online advertising on relevant portals along with a wide range of eCRM measures and brochures.

Vanderlicht developed local media in a matching style and tone of voice, with advertisements, direct mails and postcards highlighting the various aspects that go to make up a relaxed festive gathering. Grabarz & Partner handled CRM communications with IKEA FAMILY members, using inspiring content to explore the overarching concept in greater depth and spark interaction. Razorfish’s social media measures also built on the idea: for the first time, for example, IKEA fans had the opportunity to offer up any free places at their Christmas table.

Everyone wants Christmas to go off without a hitch,” says Bettina Olf, Executive Creative Director at thjnk Hamburg. “But no one remembers the perfect Christmas. We recall the time the tree fell over, or the year there was no powdered-sugar gingerbread house – but the house was filled with powdered sugar. Those are the memories that count.”

The campaign is rounded out by various radio commercials and digital OoH motifs, produced by 27km. thjnk was thrilled to attract American director Lisa Rubisch – who also made the Manifesto video in 2011 – to the project. SOUP Film Berlin handled production.

To the commercial

Responsible on the client side:
Marketing Manager: Heiko Klauer
External Communication Manager: Nina Kirschke
Project Leader Marketing: Anett Gleichner, Tobias Wottke

Responsible on the agency side:
Executive Creative Director: Bettina Olf
Creative Art Senior: Sharon Jessen
Creative Art Junior: Sebastian Körner
Creative Director Copy: Ales Polcar
Creative Copy Senior: Sabine Kuckuck
Creative Copy Junior: Isabella Jacob
Strategist: Stephan Friedrich
Account Director: Verena Harwege
Account Manager Senior: Florian Laufenberg
Art Buying: Susanne Nagel

Responsible on the production side:
Producer: Kristina Albrecht, Hermann Krug (CFS Krug)
Film production: SOUP Film Berlin
Director: Lisa Rubisch
Camera: Rasmus Videbæk
Post production: nhb video
Music: Yessian Music GmbH
Photographer: Oliver Schwarzwald

Diese IKEA-Weihnachtskampagne ist alles andere als perfekt.

Ho ho hej! Dieses Jahr wird’s perfekt: Die Gans bleibt saftig, nicht mal Schwiegermutti hat was zu meckern, der Hund benimmt sich und nichts geht daneben. So die Idee. Die Wirklichkeit sieht eher anders aus. Deshalb feiert IKEA Weihnachten 2015 einfach so, wie es wirklich ist: unperfekt perfekt. Unter dem Motto „Zusammen wird’s ein Fest“ inspiriert eine großangelegte Auftaktkampagne – entwickelt vom Hamburger Standort der Agenturgruppe thjnk – dazu, Weihnachten mal etwas lockerer zu nehmen und sich wieder darauf zu besinnen, worum es eigentlich geht: Zusammen Lebkuchenhäuser einzureißen, erst den Baum, dann sich selbst zu schmücken und natürlich das feierliche Familienessen. Kurz: Eine gute Zeit mit seinen Liebsten zu verbringen.

Die Kampagne wurde gemeinsam mit allen IKEA Partneragenturen medienübergreifend ausgearbeitet: Ein TVC zeigt viele magische Momente, die die Weihnachtszeit gerade durch ihre Unvollkommenheit vollkommen machen. Ab dem 02. November 2015 laufen vor allem ein 35- und ein 20-Sekünder auf allen reichweitenstarken Sendern. Zudem läuft punktuell ein 76-Sekünder, der genau wie weitere sieben Kurzfilme auch online eingesetzt wird.

Eine umfangreiche Landingpage von GGH Lowe bildet den digitalen Hub: Auf IKEA.de/weihnachten erwarten User Produktideen, zahlreiche Tipps und Inspiration rundum eine unperfekt perfekte Weihnachtszeit. Digital begleitet wird die Kampagne durch externe Onlinewerbemittel auf relevanten Portalen sowie umfassende eCRM Maßnahmen und Broschüren.

Vanderlicht hat in Stil und Tonalität passende lokale Medien entwickelt: Anzeigen, Postwurfsendungen und Postkarten thematisieren verschiedene Anlässe für ein entspanntes Fest. Für die CRM-Kommunikation mit den IKEA FAMILY Mitgliedern ist Grabarz und Partner verantwortlich. Sie vertieft den Dachgedanken der Kampagne mit inspirierendem Content und lädt zur Interaktion ein. Und auch die Social-Media-Maßnahmen von Razorfish tragen die Idee weiter: Hier haben IKEA Fans beispielsweise erstmals die Möglichkeit, noch freie Plätze an ihrer Festtafel anzubieten.

„Alle wollen, dass Weihnachten möglichst perfekt läuft“, so Bettina Olf, Executive Creative Director bei thjnk Hamburg: „Aber keiner erinnert sich an das perfekte Weihnachten – sondern an das eine Mal, an dem der Baum umgekippt ist, oder an das Jahr, an dem es kein Puderzuckerhaus aber viel Puderzucker im Haus gab. Und um solche Erinnerungen geht’s doch.“

Komplettiert wird die Kampagne von diversen Funkspots und Digital-OOH-Motiven, produziert von 27km. thjnk konnte für das Projekt die amerikanische Regisseurin Lisa Rubisch – die bereits den Film Manifesto aus dem Jahr 2011 gemacht hat – begeistern. Für die Produktion ist SOUP Film Berlin verantwortlich.

Zum Spot

Verantwortlich auf Kundenseite:
Marketing Manager: Heiko Klauer
External Communication Manager: Nina Kirschke
Project Leader Marketing: Anett Gleichner, Tobias Wottke

Verantwortlich auf Agenturseite:
Executive Creative Director: Bettina Olf
Creative Art Senior: Sharon Jessen
Creative Art Junior: Sebastian Körner
Creative Director Copy: Ales Polcar
Creative Copy Senior: Sabine Kuckuck
Creative Copy Junior: Isabella Jacob
Strategist: Stephan Friedrich
Account Director: Verena Harwege
Account Manager Senior: Florian Laufenberg
Art Buying: Susanne Nagel

Verantwortlich auf Produktionsseite:
Producer: Kristina Albrecht, Hermann Krug (CFS Krug)
Filmproduktion: SOUP Film Berlin
Regie: Lisa Rubisch
Kamera: Rasmus Videbæk
Postproduktion: nhb video
Musik: Yessian Music GmbH
Fotograf: Oliver Schwarzwald