thjnk Hamburg stages rain dances for Audi quattro.

Since the dawn of time, people have been using rituals, dances and technology to try to change or predict the weather. As it turns out, we didn’t have to. Because with quattro all-wheel drive, we can approach any and all conditions with confidence.

The new Audi quattro Rainmaker commercial testifies to this with fascinating images. Developed by the thjnk agency group’s Hamburg office, it was made with the French production company The Gang. A 30-second and a 45-second version are airing in 16 countries. Austria saw the debut, followed in early November by Germany, Italy, France, Spain and Switzerland.

“In past years, quattro communications have been very successful. So extending the campaign posed a major challenge. With the Rainmaker idea, we achieved a rendering that brought the rather technical topic of all-wheel drive to a very human level,” says Fabian Königer, Creative Director Copy at thjnk Hamburg.

Michael Finke, Head of Creation and Sales Media at Audi: “The concept of the Rainmaker campaign perfectly captures the core of the quattro brand and can be transported onto our international markets beautifully.”

Dr. Felicitas Nogly, Head of Advertising at Audi: “With the Rainmaker campaign, we are systematically building on the quattro brand communications and, by opting for a cinematic execution, not only underscoring the slogan ‘Vorsprung durch Technik’ but also demonstrating our communicative edge in this segment.”

The video was made by Variable, a New York-based creative collective, under the leadership of directors Salomon Ligthelm and Jonathan Bregel and cinematographer Niklas Johanson. Alongside the video, the campaign also comprises digital measures as well as print advertisements, with motifs photographed by Holger Wild. What’s more, Audi Magazine features an extensive making-of picture spread about the video.

To the commercial

Responsible on the client side:
Head of Marketing Communications: Giovanni Perosino
Head of Creation & Sales Media: Michael Finke
Head of Advertsing: Dr. Felicitas Nogly
Project Director: Andrea Killinger

Responsible on the agency side:
Executive Creative Director: Heiko Freyland, Michael Ohanian, Gerrit Zinke
Design Director: Roman Lukowski
Creative Director Digital: Grit Hornich
Creative Senior Digital: Florian Schaar
Creative Junior Digital: Pasquale Pretzsch
Creative Director Art: Andreas Wagner
Creative Art Senior: Alexander Grapp
Creative Art: Sabrina Mairinger
Creative Art Junior: Nadine Bauer
Creative Director Copy: Michel Foertsch, Fabian Königer
Creative Copy Senior: Justin Salice-Stephan
Creative Copy: Eike Eberhardt
Strategist Senior: Alexander Kovrigin
Managing Director Account: Anke Peters
Account Director: Anna Lee Sønnichsen
Account Manager Junior: Karolin Kegeler
Project Director Digital: Frederike Wasserkampf
Project Manager Junior Digital: Volkan Dege, Lena Hopfmann
Agentur Producer: Thomas Nabbefeld, Georg von Lobenstein
Film Supervisor: Sean Kirby

Responsible on the production side:
Film production: The Gang
Director: Variable
Camera: Niklas Johanson
Post production: Digital District
Music: 1) Beats Antique "Nau-Ashta"
2) Run The Jewels "Blockbuster Night Part 1“

thjnk Hamburg lässt für Audi quattro Regentänze aufführen ...

Seit Anbeginn der Zeit versuchen wir, das Wetter mit Hilfe von Ritualen, Tänzen und Technik zu beeinflussen oder vorherzusagen. Dabei müssten wir das doch eigentlich gar nicht: Denn mit dem Allradantrieb quattro kann man jeder Wetterlage gelassen gegenübertreten.

Das zeigt der neue Audi-quattro-Spot „Rainmaker“ in eindrucksvollen Bildern. Entwickelt wurde er vom Hamburger Standort der Agenturgruppe thjnk und produziert mit der französischen Produktionsfirma „The Gang“. Zu sehen ist er in 16 Ländern als 30- und 45-Sekünder; den Auftakt macht Österreich, danach folgen Anfang November Deutschland, Italien, Frankreich, Spanien und die Schweiz.

„Die quattro Kommunikation war in den vergangenen Jahren sehr erfolgreich. Die Herausforderung für die Weiterführung der Kampagne war dementsprechend groß. Mit der „Rainmaker“-Idee haben wir eine Umsetzung gefunden, die das eher technische Thema Allradantrieb auf eine sehr menschliche Ebene bringt“, so Fabian Königer, Creative Director Copy bei thjnk Hamburg.

Michael Finke, Leiter Kreation und Verkaufsmedien, Audi: „Das Konzept der „Rainmaker“-Kampagne fängt den Markenkern von quattro optimal ein und lässt sich ideal in die internationalen Märkte transportieren.“

Dr. Felicitas Nogly, Leiterin Werbung, Audi: „Mit der Kampagne „Rainmaker“ setzen wir die Kommunikation der Marke quattro konsequent fort und untermauern mit einer cineastischen Umsetzung nicht nur den Claim „Vorsprung durch Technik“, sondern zeigen auch unseren kommunikativen Vorsprung in diesem Segment auf.“

Umgesetzt wurde der Film vom Regiekollektiv „Variable“ aus New York, federführend waren dabei die beiden Regisseure Salomon Ligthelm und Jonathan Bregel und der DOP Niklas Johanson. Die Kampagne umfasst neben dem Film digitale Maßnahmen und wird in Printanzeigen weitergeführt. Die Motive wurden von Holger Wild fotografiert. Darüber hinaus berichtet im Audi Magazin eine umfangreiche Bildstrecke über die Produktion des Spots.

Verantwortlich auf Kundenseite:
Leiter Marketing-Kommunikation: Giovanni Perosino
Leiter Kreation und Verkaufsmedien: Michael Finke
Leiterin Werbung: Dr. Felicitas Nogly
Projektleiterin: Andrea Killinger

Verantwortlich auf Agenturseite:
Executive Creative Director: Heiko Freyland, Michael Ohanian, Gerrit Zinke
Design Director: Roman Lukowski
Creative Director Digital: Grit Hornich
Creative Senior Digital: Florian Schaar
Creative Junior Digital: Pasquale Pretzsch
Creative Director Art: Andreas Wagner
Creative Art Senior: Alexander Grapp
Creative Art: Sabrina Mairinger
Creative Art Junior: Nadine Bauer
Creative Director Copy: Michel Foertsch, Fabian Königer
Creative Copy Senior: Justin Salice-Stephan
Creative Copy: Eike Eberhardt
Strategist Senior: Alexander Kovrigin
Geschäftsführung Beratung: Anke Peters
Account Director: Anna Lee Sønnichsen
Account Manager Junior: Karolin Kegeler
Project Director Digital: Frederike Wasserkampf
Project Manager Junior Digital: Volkan Dege, Lena Hopfmann
Agentur Producer: Thomas Nabbefeld, Georg von Lobenstein
Film Supervisor: Sean Kirby

Verantwortlich auf Produktionsseite:
Filmproduktion: The Gang
Regie: Variable
Kamera: Niklas Johanson
Postproduktion: Digital District
Musik: 1) Beats Antique "Nau-Ashta"
2) Run The Jewels "Blockbuster Night Part 1“