thjnk and loved create new brand identity for thyssenkrupp.

thyssenkrupp, the German industrial icon with a history stretching back over 200 years, is still widely considered to be purely a steel conglomerate. Yet over the years, the Essen-based company with its 155,000 employees has in fact evolved into a diversified industrial group. Today, its materials business accounts for less than 30 percent of sales. The company wants this transformation to be fully reflected in its brand identity and global turnout.

An international, group-wide brand identity has been developed in collaboration with the thyssenkrupp team and McKinsey. In its role as international lead agency for the brand relaunch, the thjnk agency group is in charge of developing the new umbrella brand as well as creating the core communications measures. loved is responsible for thyssenkrupp’s corporate identity and its globally unified corporate design. Initial results will be presented to the public on 19 November 2015.

“Creating a new brand identity for thyssenkrupp is a marvellous and multifaceted assignment for thjnk and loved. We worked with the client to take the brand further and reposition it. We will now be integrating the new brand identity into all of thyssenkrupp’s internal and external communications channels,” says Michael Trautmann, co-founder and Member of the Management Board of thjnk.

Alexander Wilke, Head of Communications at thyssenkrupp: “thjnk’s clinched it in the pitch above all thanks to the agency group’s strategic expertise. We firmly believe that thjnk and loved are the perfect partners. It was especially important for us to bring all the thyssenkrupp companies together under one umbrella brand for the first time. I am very proud that we accomplished that. This, too, shows that we at thyssenkrupp have managed to get a good many changes off the ground. All that makes the new brand visible and brings it to life. It will give our change process fresh impetus, both internally and externally. Along with the logo, slogan and corporate design, our new brand promise is the centrepiece of the project.”

The thjnk agency group’s Hamburg and New York branches as well as design subsidiary loved are responsible for consulting as well as implementation of the new brand identity. The cooperation with thyssenkrupp was preceded by a pitch.

thjnk und loved schaffen neue Markenidentität für thyssenkrupp.

thyssenkrupp, deutsche Industrie-Ikone mit über 200-jähriger Geschichte, gilt vielen noch als reinrassiger Stahlkonzern. Tatsächlich aber hat sich das Essener Unternehmen mit seinen 155.000 Mitarbeitern in den vergangenen Jahren zu einem diversifizierten Industriekonzern gewandelt. Das Werkstoffgeschäft macht heute weniger als 30 Prozent des Umsatzes aus. Diesen Wandel will das Unternehmen ganzheitlich in seiner Markenidentität und seinem weltweiten Auftritt widerspiegeln.

Gemeinsam mit dem Team von thyssenkrupp und McKinsey wurde ein konzernübergreifender, internationaler Markenauftritt erarbeitet. Die Agenturgruppe begleitet den Markenrelaunch als internationale Leadagentur. thjnk verantwortet dabei die Entwicklung der neuen Dachmarke wie auch die Kreation der wichtigsten Kommunikationsmaßnahmen. Die Corporate Identity und das weltweit einheitliche Corporate Design liegen bei loved. Erste Ergebnisse sind ab 19. November 2015 zu sehen.

„Die Schaffung einer neuer Markenidentität für thyssenkrupp ist ein vielseitiger und großartiger Auftrag für thjnk und loved. Zusammen mit dem Kunden haben wir die Marke weiterentwickelt und neu positioniert. Jetzt tragen wir die neue Markenidentität in alle internen und externen Kommunikationskanäle von thyssenkrupp“, so Michael Trautmann, Co-Gründer und Vorstand der Agenturgruppe thjnk.

Alexander Wilke, Leiter Kommunikation bei thyssenkrupp: „Die Entscheidung für thjnk ist im Pitch vor allem aufgrund der strategischen Expertise der Agenturgruppe gefallen. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass thjnk und loved die perfekten Partner sind. Für uns war besonders wichtig, dass jetzt zum ersten Mal alle Unternehmen von thyssenkrupp unter einer Dachmarke versammelt sind. Dass uns das gelungen ist, macht mich stolz. Auch das zeigt, dass wir bei thyssenkrupp viele Veränderungen auf den Weg gebracht haben. Das alles macht die neue Marke jetzt sichtbar und erlebbar. Sie wird unserem Veränderungsprozess nach innen und außen einen weiteren Schub verleihen. Neben Logo, Claim und Corporate Design ist unser neues Markenversprechen das Herzstück des Projekts.“

Für die Beratung und die Umsetzung der neuen Markenidentität zeichnen der Hamburger und New Yorker Standort und die Designtochter loved der Agenturgruppe thjnk verantwortlich. Der Zusammenarbeit ist ein Pitch vorausgegangen.

Zur Pressemitteilung bei thyssenkrupp

Zum Blogbeitrag von Michael Trautmann